Thread: Wuxia Timeline

Default Wuxia Timeline

I have very little knowledge on when and where the novels kickstart off in history.

Anyone know when and where does each of the novels start?

Eg.
    Tang---ROCH
    Song---HSDS
    Yuan---...

Quote Originally Posted by FlamboyantLife
    I have very little knowledge on when and where the novels kickstart off in history.

Anyone know when and where does each of the novels start?

Eg.
    Tang---ROCH
    Song---HSDS
    Yuan---...
    For the Jin Yong Universe:

Around 1100 CE (Christian Era): DGSD (Northern Sung Dynasty)

Around 1200-1220 CE: LOCH (Southern Sung Dynasty)

Around 1233-1259 CE: ROCH (Southern Sung Dynasty)

Around 1336-1360 CE: HSDS (Yuan Dynasty)

Unknown years during late 14th, 15th, 16th, or early 17th Centuries, CE: SPW (Ming Dynasty)

Early 1600s CE: CRIMSON SWORD (late Ming Dynasty)

Late 1600s CE: DOMD (early Qing Dynasty)

1700s CE: BOOK & SWORD: GRATITUDE & REVENGE (Qing Dynasty)

1700s CE: FLYING FOX OF SNOWY MOUNTAIN (Qing Dynasty)

Not sure about LINKED CITIES, ODE TO GALLANTRY, HORSE NEIGHING IN THE WIND, or the story about Ah Ching.

Around 1100 CE (Christian Era): DGSD (Northern Sung Dynasty)
    The novel began in the year 1090 A.D., during the Yuanyou Period of the (Northern) Song Dynasty 大宋元祐年 (1086-1093 A.D.) in the reign of Song Zhezong, the Wise Ancestor of Song 宋哲宗 (Chapter 1, clarified in the 3rd edition only). Note: There were a number of much-needed rectifications of dates/years in the 3rd edition of DGSD.

Unknown years during late 14th, 15th, 16th, or early 17th Centuries, CE: SPW (Ming Dynasty)
    That SPW was set in the Ming Dynasty came from four different clues in the text.
    (1) Wudang was in existence, and named as the 2nd largest school after Shaolin in Chapter 26.
    (2) Yue Lingshan made a statement to Lin Pingzhi about the founder of the Ming Dynasty, Zhu Yuanzhang, in Chapter 35.
    (3) Qing-style pigtails were not mentioned.