+ Reply to Thread
Results 1 to 13 of 13

Thread: Windows/Computer Shutdown Problem

  1. #1
    Senior Member eve13's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2002
    Posts
    417

    Default Windows/Computer Shutdown Problem

    Hi,

    I've recently come across a problem with my computer. The issue is that when I try to shut my computer down with the steps; Start --> Shut Down ....nothing happens.

    The computer seems to have shut down some programs or actions, coz I noticed the tool bar on the bottom-right flash and some icons disappear. But after this, the computer is still switched on and doesn't seem to shut down any further.

    So I found that the only way for me to shut it down is log off as current user first, then shut the computer down on the log on screen. However, when I click the shut down on that screen, a message box will pop up saying..Another user is currently logged on, if you shut down all unsaved informtaion will be lost. Do you still wish to continue. (something like that.) So I click yes and it finally allows me to shut down.

    Has anyone encountered this problem or know how to solve it? Does anyone know what the problem is? Is it a problem with the computer itself or have I been hacked?

    Please help. Thanks in advance.

  2. #2
    Senior Member KeongJai's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2004
    Location
    Perth, Australia
    Posts
    1,139

    Default

    my first guess is you've got lots of services/programs running either from having lots of things installed intentionally or spyware installed unintentionally.

    if you press ctrl+shift+esc you can see the processes (programs that are running). Do it when you're shutting down so you can see what's not being closed. make a list of what's still running when your computer "hangs".
    Google them up and see what they are, if none of them are any known spyware I guess you just have to wait longer for windows to close those programs down.

    Also the task manager can show you who's logged on so make a note of that too. It could be your family member logged on before you. If you see some dodgey usernames, it's because you've been hacked or installed some malicious software.

    How to solve? reinstall windows and don't click on the porno ads next time.

  3. #3
    Senior Member eve13's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2002
    Posts
    417

    Default

    thanks KeongJai,

    I 've done most of what you have mentioned, except the googling up the processes part.

    as for the username, when i look that up, only mine username is shown.

    I really don't want to reinstall Windows again....i just did that not that long ago...

  4. #4
    Senior Member KeongJai's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2004
    Location
    Perth, Australia
    Posts
    1,139

    Default

    i mean in windows task manager, in the processes tab, there's a username column. You should only see "system", "local service", "network service", "whatever other windows service account", "your own username" if you see another username such as "asdasthbdasT$#" then you probably have spyware or a virus etc.

  5. #5
    Senior Member eve13's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2002
    Posts
    417

    Default

    Yeh, I know. that's where I checked. and it shows that i have 27 processes running.

  6. #6
    Senior Member LuNaR's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2003
    Location
    a place full of raymond fan, HELP!
    Posts
    6,557

    Default

    try using the shut down on the control-alt-delete task manager
    SAN FRANCISCO GIANTS 2010 and 2012 CHAMPS

  7. #7
    Senior Member NetDriftr's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2006
    Location
    AU
    Posts
    3,225

    Default

    the reason why the shutdown process stalled is because its waiting for other programs (processes) to close.

    Normal shutdown technique (START -> Shutdown, or ALT-CTL-DEL Shutdown) sends a shutdown message to programs running. now rogue (or buggy) programs may not respond to the shutdown message and continue running. Since the Shutdown process is not receiving acknowledgement, it continues to wait and wait and wait and wait...

    one method to force shutdown is to execute the shutdown program from the command prompt (START -> RUN -> CMD.exe)
    Go to your windows system32 directory (eg cd c:\windows\system32 enter)
    force shutdown, type: shutdown -s -f
    If you don't like my flag, then you can kiss my rebel a55

  8. #8
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Jun 2006
    Posts
    1,919

    Default

    format your computer, window get corrupt is common after 6 - 12 month of use, a computer needs to be format at around that time anyways, save you alot of waiting time.

  9. #9
    Moderator pemberly's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2001
    Location
    pimptown, USA
    Posts
    4,311

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by warlock110 View Post
    format your computer, window get corrupt is common after 6 - 12 month of use, a computer needs to be format at around that time anyways, save you alot of waiting time.
    you format your computer every 6 months?!
    nytimes: Every hr you have 10 minutes where youíre not doing anything productive at work, & you canít look at porn. So you make a comment & fulfill this desire to show yourself off as a smarty-pants.

  10. #10
    Moderator CrazyT's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2002
    Location
    Texas
    Posts
    1,933

    Default

    I need to format mine. Windows won't even load up anymore.
    I would love to change the world, but they won't give me the source code.

  11. #11
    Senior Member eve13's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2002
    Posts
    417

    Default

    i think it may be my msn messanger that's stopping the computer to shut down.
    i've kinda of noticed that when msn is not on, the computer shuts down fine, and last time, i specifically shut down msn 1st, then the computer, and it shut down.
    though i'm not sure if it is really the problem. i will try again today.

  12. #12
    Senior Member KeongJai's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2004
    Location
    Perth, Australia
    Posts
    1,139

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by pemberly View Post
    you format your computer every 6 months?!
    I used to reformat and install windows on my Dad's computer every few months because he used to get heaps of adware/spyware. Until one time, I made everyone's accounts have normal user access and only used the admin account to install things. I haven't had a problem since.

  13. #13
    Senior Member LuNaR's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2003
    Location
    a place full of raymond fan, HELP!
    Posts
    6,557

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by KeongJai View Post
    I used to reformat and install windows on my Dad's computer every few months because he used to get heaps of adware/spyware. Until one time, I made everyone's accounts have normal user access and only used the admin account to install things. I haven't had a problem since.
    lol ur dad much a lot of .... at night
    SAN FRANCISCO GIANTS 2010 and 2012 CHAMPS

Similar Threads

  1. Replies: 17
    Last Post: 11-20-07, 11:23 PM
  2. Replies: 0
    Last Post: 05-30-07, 09:21 AM
  3. Windows Live Space problem
    By flyingfox2002 in forum Tech Squad
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: 05-25-07, 03:00 PM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts