Thread: When do coworkers cross the line?

Default When do coworkers cross the line?

I guess this is part of academia and co-worker relations. But basically, I'm a student intern for the summer, organizing an event. There's this staff person who is in charge of a certain portion (never know who is reading the Internet these days) of an event, and I am in charge of making sure everyone does their job, creating timelines, etc.

So....this portion that she/he is in charge of is LACKING, and this other person from another campus organizing the same event is doing a superb job, so I mention this to her/him, and ask her/him if she could exchange ideas with the other person. Notice how I did not mention anything about what she/he is doing, but merely that we should be exchanging ideas.

Then, she/he blows up at me and tells me to basically be careful of what I'm saying (which is almost kinda "threatening") and that she/he took it as criticism. Then he/she proceeded to tell me to calm down, stop being a worry wart, and drink less coffee (that was pretty rude of her/him).

The thing is, she/he is NOT my boss, and my boss is actually really frustrated/annoyed at him/her as well about this. Everyone on the team has to do a lot of the stuff this person is supposed to do, but not getting right and it's slowing us all down.

I almost feel that just because I'm a student, she/he feels that they can say b.s. to me and take out her/his frustrations on me unprofessionally just because he/she is ranked higher up on the hierachy even if he/she is not my boss.

What do you think about this? Should I stand up for myself and tell my boss? I don't want to be a "tattle-tale", but I also don't want to be stabbed in the back by this person.

Quote Originally Posted by yearning View Post