Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: I've decided to... (click to find out what I've decided)

Default I've decided to... (click to find out what I've decided)

I've decided....

it's time to switch the tires of my car.

This topic is therefore about the lovable academic subject of tires.

What I would like to know is, what's a good tire that strikes a balance between reliability and cost? I want something that's cost effective and reliable. Please suggest. Thank you.
    忽见柳荫下两个小孩子在哀哀痛哭,瞧模样正是武敦儒、武修文兄弟。郭芙大声叫道:「喂,你们在干甚麽?」武 修文回头见是郭芙,哭道:「我们在哭,你不见麽?」

err, I am no expert but let me add some points;

I think you need to let people know, what car you drive, what are the specs of your tyres; something like 205 60R 16 blah blah. Also, it will help if you state whether you prefer comfort or handling.
    I am a pessimist, but I think people like me!

Quote Originally Posted by shen diao xia View Post
    err, I am no expert but let me add some points;

I think you need to let people know, what car you drive, what are the specs of your tyres; something like 205 60R 16 blah blah. Also, it will help if you state whether you prefer comfort or handling.
    Yeh, we also need to know where you live (lots of rain?, snow?, ice? good weather all year round?)

After sliding around all winter on my worn out Michelins, I put four new Bridgestone Insignia SE200's on my van two weeks ago. I'm very pleased with them so far but we've only had a few light snowfalls since. I can say they are pretty good on ice though - we're into the thawing days and freezing nights, so there's lots of frozen patches in the mornings. I picked a big ice patch, slammed the brakes at about 50kph and the anti-locks didn't kick in at all.

$105CDN each for P205/70R15 installed and balanced, including labour, taxes, recycling fee, etc. (don't forget to ask about all the extra charges). I didn't shop around so I'd expect they could be found for less.