Thread: Tendon Damaged

Default Tendon Damaged

Remember how Madame Ma and many other characters when they had their tendon slit and damaged, they could not function their arms and legs. Does that really work in reality?

Maybe Han Solo or somebody familiar with anatomy can explain. I know this is probably a real simple question. I just want to understand how tendons work in relation to the body. So if someone had their tendons severed or damaged, they're rendered handicap for life?
    I just love how you Captivate My Mind

Self reminder - Update blog more often and continue editing/writing for TOV fanfic.

I'm no medical expert, but I'll say this much: the only kind of tissue that cannot regenerate itself at the cellular level is nerve tissue. Bone tissue, cartilage tisue, muscle tissue (of which tendons would be a part): all these naturally regenerate over time.

SS,

Tendon are the attachement of muscles onto bones. They are made of connective tissues primarily.

Ken is right in saying that most severed tendon can be regenerated, however that depends on the extent of the damage.

For example, a severed achilles tendon in modern medicine can be treated conservatively with a plaster and no movement for weeks, but even there are chances of failure. Therefore, in sporty athlethic persons, we operate on them to reattach the tendon.

In wuxia terms, therefore, there are chances that someone with severed tendon are unable to heal on its own, and are severely hampered in movement.

Han Solo
    Wuxiapedia

Quote Originally Posted by bliss
    I think they're probably at the same level as or one level below Ah Qing, which is about the level of a 2nd or 3rd generation Quan Zhen disciple.
    Troll Control