Thread: How safe is online banking?

I live out of a suitcase, but the heart is at home on the lake.

Default How safe is online banking?

Do you guys do online banking? I've been banking online for many years but I don't know if it's a good idea now. My computer was recently detected for being infested with 160 plus viruses. The viruses were slowly eating my computer alive for the last six months, and I've learned that someone was trying to hijack my information. It is just so alarming.

We hear people talk about the risks (identity theft and fraudulent) of online banking all the times, but I have never thought much about it until now. How safe is online banking?

I wouldn't consider it. But then again, just because you're not using online banking doesn't mean you're very safe either. I'm sure you guys have all heard about that case where millions and millions of credit card numbers were stolen.

I've been doing everything with online banking, and so far, it's pretty good.

I do get occasional spam mails supposedly from my bank, but I ignore them. Additionally, my bank reminds us through our account that they'd never contact us via email.
    Because I'm somewhere in between,
    My love and my agony.

it's as safe as the user.

Quote Originally Posted by Jaded WenEr View Post
    I've been doing everything with online banking, and so far, it's pretty good.

I do get occasional spam mails supposedly from my bank, but I ignore them. Additionally, my bank reminds us through our account that they'd never contact us via email.
    How often do you change your password, Jade? Some people recommend changing it every three months. My password was 10 or more years old. I just changed it after this incident.

I only changed it recently.

I usually change my password once a year for all my important accounts.

But seriously, depending on your bank, online banking should be very safe.
    My love and my agony.

Quote Originally Posted by jadebunny9 View Post