Thread: The Disappearing Needles - 消失的针 (xiāo shī de zhēn)

Post The Disappearing Needles - 消失的针 (xiāo shī de zhēn)

Hi everyone. I'm new here, but I've been a lurker for quite a few years. I wanted to share a story I've been writing lately. In English it's "The Disappearing Needles" and in Chinese it's 消失的针(xiāo shī de zhēn).

The main characters are Leng Xiaohan (冷潇晗) and Wen Xuan (雯轩).

I just wanted to make a disclaimer before beginning. I don't claim to be a great writer, and I realize that this is probably not the most innovative story. In fact, it is blatantly inspired by Gu Long. The reason I did this is because his style is quite opposite from my usual writing style, and I thought it would be interesting to do something a little bit different. I wrote this story for fun, and figured some others might enjoy it. The story is not that long, but I will post it a bit at a time (actually I still have a few more pages to write hehe).

Also, although I am studying the language and really enjoy learning about the culture and history of China, I am no expert. So if I make some mistakes in that regard, I apologize in advance.

Well, enough blathering, here is the story:

Chapter 1

The sun was setting over the garden. A lake reflected red light onto the walls and rocks, and the small pagoda. Everything looked like it was painted with blood. Except the body.

The body of the man lay on the ground next to the pagoda, with one hand resting on his stomach. His whole body looked tranquil. He almost looked asleep. Except that his eyes stared blankly at the sky, and some spittle had oozed out onto his long gray beard. His head twisted back at an unnatural angle.
    Two men stood nearby, at the garden’s entrance. They wore the robes and headgear of the local constabulary.
    “What do you think?” said the one.
    The other shrugged. “Who knows.”