Thread: Nikon - Digital SLR

Thumbs up Nikon - Digital SLR

I've just got myself a D40, with a tripod and all its original set at a bargain. I'm playing around with it and I think, I could start a topic on digital SLR cameras so as to learn and share the photographic skills and knowledge.

$this->handle_bbcode_img_match('http://farm2.static.flickr.com/1308/727519396_6523599ea7_o.jpg')

I have read up the reviews on the differences between D40 and D40x. The few differences are:-

1) D40: US$599 body and lens vs D40x: US$799 body
    2) D40: 1/500 vs D40x: 1/200
    3) D40: 200-1600 1EV steps + HI1 vs D40x: 100-1600 1EV steps + HI1
    4) D40: 2.5 fps vs D40x: 3 fps

I'm no expert in SLR so I would like to ask: With the above stated differences (apart from the price), do you consider the 3 as major differences? (2 to 4)

In this section of DSLR, it doesn't have to be a Nikon, any brand will do fine. Please also share the weakness and strength of the camera. :
    Last edited by remember_Cedric; 12-11-08 at 01:18 PM.
    What can I say? I'm still standing! No weapon against me shall prosper! I am more than a conqueror!!!

I don't care to sit by the window on an airplane. If I can't control it, why look?

All DSLR will fill your need, they have so much crap in there, you'll never run out of options. I choose not to buy them because of that, I'm no expert in taking pictures, I need help taking them. They have between the gap ones like the superzooms that has great built in lense (much better than the ones that came with any DSLR kit), or small DSLR that's gear toward the consumer market.

I honestly do not have time to learn all the stuff about camera (I took photography class before), but no where near enough to judge/take great pictures. I rely on what they give me (automatic) haha.