Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Going the other way (Imigrating from US to China)

Default Going the other way (Imigrating from US to China)

I have had this thought for a while, moving to China to experience a totally different environment. I'm not sure if this would be a good idea. I don't know what to expect. My friends and family would be totally shock if I did do this. I don't even know what I could do for a living there. But it just seems like it would be fun. I want to get a direct experience of the history and culture of my ancestry.

Anyone else have this thought as well?

I don't know about this being a good idea. A family friend is actually considering moving back to live in China and pretty much every single one of her friends are against it.

The thing is, if you want to experience the history of China, then traveling for an extensive period of time in China would do. As for the culture - I don't know which you're refering to. If you mean like China in ancient times, you're not going to experience it because the majority of it is gone. The modern Chinese culture is not something I want to be part of. From people I know who have gone back to visit, the current Chinese culture is pretty "bad" in their opinions. There is an incredible overdose of nationalism and patriotism that isn't necessarily the best thing. You're not allowed to make a remotely negative comment about China (even if it's true) without people jumping on you. As for the people, they apprently just don't seem cultured nor sophisticated enough.

Also, there is a high chance you will be viewed as an "outsider," since you are going back from the US.

For me, I'd only go back to China to visit. I'd never want to live there (at least not in Mainland).
    Because I'm somewhere in between,
    My love and my agony.

Quote Originally Posted by Jaded WenEr View Post