Thread: Sword of the Yue maiden

Default Sword of the Yue maiden

Hello there,

I'm a Belgian student in English-Chinese translation. I've translated this story by Jin Yong into Dutch for my graduation project but I've noticed that libraries here aren't exactly overflowing with books on the subject. I've already bought "Jin Yong phenomenon" and I'm going to buy "Paper swordsmen" and perhaps "Speaking to history: Gou Jian in twentieth century China". I was wondering if anybody here could give me any other works on Wuxia and such or if any of you could tell me anything special about the story. Also is there any publicized form of this short story except the Hong Kong newspaper?

Default Hamm The Man

Quote Originally Posted by Miss Hollow View Post
    Hello there,

I'm a Belgian student in English-Chinese translation. I've translated this story by Jin Yong into Dutch for my graduation project but I've noticed that libraries here aren't exactly overflowing with books on the subject. I've already bought "Jin Yong phenomenon" and I'm going to buy "Paper swordsmen" and perhaps "Speaking to history: Gou Jian in twentieth century China". I was wondering if anybody here could give me any other works on Wuxia and such or if any of you could tell me anything special about the story. Also is there any publicized form of this short story except the Hong Kong newspaper?
    "The Jin Yong Phenomenon" is pretty poor, in my opinion. Hamm's "Paper Swordsmen" is much better, but still not quite the first-rate literary analysis of Jinyong's works that I was looking for when I read it; it takes more of a 'media studies' approach, which I find shallow. Could be worse, though. It's not a surprise that the only essay in "The Jin Yong Phenomenon" that is any good happens to be Hamm's.