Page 1 of 358 123456789101151101 ... LastLast

Thread: 大唐双龙传 [Da Tang Shuang Long Zhuan] by Huang Yi

Default 大唐双龙传 [Da Tang Shuang Long Zhuan] by Huang Yi

This is a reboot of History of the Tang Dynasty Two Dragons, translated by Grundle, Dragonsense and Xlandhenry. I thought long and hard, but in the end I decided to reboot it. I know many of you are disappointed, and you have my sympathy. No offense to the original translators, (in fact, I have not read their work, except for the first part of Grundle translation, and I must say his sentences flow a lot better than mine) but I am doing this for my benefit: to maintain (my own) continuity.

This is my first attempt at translating Huang Yi. His sentences are a lot different than Jin Yong, Gu Long or Liang Yusheng; IMHO, they are more cryptic that it took me a while to understand what he was saying. I do hope that over time, I will get the hang of it and thus will be able to translate faster. I cannot promise you that, of course; but the Lords willing, I intent to finish it. Maybe not in a year or two, but (God forbid) not in 40 years either.

Default Book 1 - Chapter 1

Legend of Great Tangs Two Dragons
    大唐双龙传 [Da Tang Shuang Long Zhuan]

Written by Huang Yi
    Translated by Foxs

Book 1 Chapter 1 Depending on each other for survival

Yuwen Huaji stood straight up on the command deck of a warship, his eyes scanned both sides of the canal. It was not dawn yet. The lantern light of these five huge warship overshadowed the moon and the stars in the sky. Just like under the rising of his Yuwen Clan, the landlords[1] of the South had also lost the glory of their former days.

Yuwen Huaji was in his thirties; tall, thin, with long arms and legs, but his face looked old with repressed emotion, looked cold and detached. His pair of eyes was immeasurably deep, giving others the impression that he was a very cold and ruthless man, while striking fear in their hearts with his domineering air.