Page 1 of 10 12345678910 LastLast

Thread: I've decided to learn Chinese.

Default I've decided to learn Chinese.

Okay, this is it! I've finally decided to learn Chinese. Well...not exactly. I already know how to speak Chinese (Cantonese anyways), so I just have to learn how to read and write it now.

I can recognize quite a large number of characters, just can't write it. But I probably won't try to hard to remember every stroke and brush. After all, I'm just learning Chinese to read Chinese novels.

Anyhow, what are some websites/programs that can help me greatly? I remember kidd posted a link to some program (Dimsum?). She said that that program is very useful when it comes to reading.

And after I get better at Chinese, what wuxia book should I read first? Something easy please.

PS: This is very important, should I start learning with SIMPLIFIED or TRADITIONAL?

traditional. once u know trad, u'll intuitively know simplified, whereas if u know simplified, u'll still be clueless about trad

but i failed at both
    Participate in SPCNET Idol Season 4!!!

http://www.spcnet.tv/forums/showthre...66#post1127566

Entries due July 31st, 2016!

Quote Originally Posted by Bogeyman View Post
    Okay, this is it! I've finally decided to learn Chinese. Well...not exactly. I already know how to speak Chinese (Cantonese anyways), so I just have to learn how to read and write it now.

I can recognize quite a large number of characters, just can't write it. But I probably won't try to hard to remember every stroke and brush. After all, I'm just learning Chinese to read Chinese novels.

Anyhow, what are some websites/programs that can help me greatly? I remember kidd posted a link to some program (Dimsum?). She said that that program is very useful when it comes to reading.

And after I get better at Chinese, what wuxia book should I read first? Something easy please.

PS: This is very important, should I start learning with SIMPLIFIED or TRADITIONAL?