spcnet's Reviews

Title
Rating
4.0 out of 5 stars
3.0 out of 5 stars
4.0 out of 5 stars
2.5 out of 5 stars
4.0 out of 5 stars
3.5 out of 5 stars
2.5 out of 5 stars
1.5 out of 5 stars
2.0 out of 5 stars
2.0 out of 5 stars
2.5 out of 5 stars
2.5 out of 5 stars
2.0 out of 5 stars
2.0 out of 5 stars
3.0 out of 5 stars
3.0 out of 5 stars
2.5 out of 5 stars
4.5 out of 5 stars
3.0 out of 5 stars
3.0 out of 5 stars
2.5 out of 5 stars
2.0 out of 5 stars
4.0 out of 5 stars
3.0 out of 5 stars
3.5 out of 5 stars
3.5 out of 5 stars
4.0 out of 5 stars
2.5 out of 5 stars
2.5 out of 5 stars
3.0 out of 5 stars
3.0 out of 5 stars
1.5 out of 5 stars
2.0 out of 5 stars
3.5 out of 5 stars
2.5 out of 5 stars
3.5 out of 5 stars
1.5 out of 5 stars
3.5 out of 5 stars
1.5 out of 5 stars
2.5 out of 5 stars
4.0 out of 5 stars
4.5 out of 5 stars
2.5 out of 5 stars
4.0 out of 5 stars
1.5 out of 5 stars
2.5 out of 5 stars
3.5 out of 5 stars
3.0 out of 5 stars
4.5 out of 5 stars
3.0 out of 5 stars
1.5 out of 5 stars
2.5 out of 5 stars
2.5 out of 5 stars
1.5 out of 5 stars


spcnet's Comments

The Suspicious Housekeeper 2013
04-08-2014 07:16 PM
spcnet says:
Heartwarming, and a better ending than the Japanese drama that it adapted from.

My Love From Another Star 2014
03-29-2014 10:14 PM
spcnet says:
Enjoyable romantic comedy because of Jun Ji Hyun!

Deja Vu 2013
11-14-2013 05:49 PM
spcnet says:
So far, bland acting from the main cast, but the premise of the storyline is interesting.

Secret 2013
11-08-2013 07:08 PM
spcnet says:
Thrilling drama with some good acting. Why does Ji Sung look so gaunt now?

Triumph in the Skies II 2013
10-16-2013 11:25 PM
spcnet says:
Spoilers alert: It's a bit selfish that Zoe would leave Sam like that and let him deal with the guilt of not being with her before she dies. I never like the premise of sequels where they destroy perfectly good romantic endings from the previous drama just for the sake of a sequel.

Master's Sun 2013
10-16-2013 10:45 PM
spcnet says:
Excellent mix of horror and romance. So Ji Sub and Gong Hyo Jin have chemistry but the last 3 episodes were dragged on for too long due to popular viewership.

The Heirs 2013
10-16-2013 10:31 PM
spcnet says:
Very similar to Boys Over Flowers synopsis with lots of rich guys and one poor main girl character.

That Winter, the Wind Blows 2013
03-09-2013 03:20 AM
spcnet says:
Dramatic production...Jo In Sung overacts a bit but Song Hye Kyo is good.

Inbound Troubles 2013
02-06-2013 03:25 PM
spcnet says:
Glad to see Joey Meng back on the scene, though she's not usually associated with comedies.

Flower Boy Next Door 2013
02-06-2013 03:24 PM
spcnet says:
Silly, funny cute so far.

The Legend of the Condor Heroes 1982
01-17-2013 03:11 AM
spcnet says:
Hua Zheng is played by Marilyn Wong Cho Si: http://www.spcnet.tv/Marilyn-Wong-Cho-Si-ac3357.html

When Heaven Burns 2011
01-04-2013 06:21 PM
spcnet says:
Not your run-of-the-mill TVB drama as this is more thought-provoking about morals and friendship. It also made it to win TVB's 2012 Best Drama award given that its last episode(s) were broadcasted in 2012.

Seigi no Mikata 2008
12-18-2012 05:59 PM
spcnet says:
Yamada Yu is deliciously wicked as the evil older sister in this comedy.

Ballad of the Desert 2013
12-11-2012 03:54 AM
spcnet says:
If this drama can maintain the quality of Bu Bu Jing Xin, then it will likely be another hit. The leads are promising, hopefully the acting can keep up. Looks like TVB actors (Fala Chen in her first Mainland Chinese series) are now also going to Mainland China to make their bucks!

The Demi-Gods and Semi-Devils 2013
12-03-2012 05:18 PM
spcnet says:
Somehow I just don't see Wallace Chung as a formidable martial artist who can exude the rawness and beastly aura of someone who can command a clan and battle galores of top fighters all at once.

The Confidant 2012
11-27-2012 04:40 PM
spcnet says:
Wayne Lai and Michelle Yim to win the corresponding Best Actor and Actress awards again?

The Moon That Embraces the Sun 2012
11-27-2012 04:38 PM
spcnet says:
The drama reads like a romance novel, given its origins. It's almost always disappointing to see the children grow up because the child actors and actresses do such a great job portraying innocent love (and look better than the grown-up counterparts in some cases). Overall, a mostly romantic, and sometimes sappy, story with not a whole lot of political intrigue and guys crying a lot.

Love Rain 2012
11-02-2012 11:24 PM
spcnet says:
This is a really cheesy drama that just doesn't have the same touch as You're Beautiful.

Rooftop Prince 2012
11-02-2012 11:06 PM
spcnet says:
One of the best time-traveling Korean dramas of recent. Han Ji Min and Micky Yoochun shine here.

Swordsman 2013
10-29-2012 03:33 PM
spcnet says:
Skeptical at the casting of Joe Chen as Dong Fong Bu Bai and the whole idea of Ling Hu Chong of potentially having a relationship with him/her. It plays out nicely in the Swordsman II movie with Bridget Lin, but the Jin Yong purist in me cries foul for a drama adaptation.

Faith 2012
10-28-2012 05:52 PM
spcnet says:
Time-traveling seems to be the new Korean drama trend as you can't get a way from one lately. Passable drama, but didn't see anything too engaging.

Highs and Lows 2012
10-28-2012 05:50 PM
spcnet says:
TVB's anti-drug drama is worth a watch

Tiger Cubs 2012
10-24-2012 04:34 PM
spcnet says:
For all the money spent on this drama, I guess I expected a much more engaging storyline. It's better than the average cop drama though by TVB.

Full House Take 2 2012
10-24-2012 04:32 PM
spcnet says:
No Min Woo reminds me of Gackt here.

Forensic Heroes III 2011
11-15-2011 10:49 PM
spcnet says:
Who is writing the script for the crime cases? And why are so many scenes focused on "cool" shots of the actors gathering up evidence on the scene and showing off badly spoken scientific words in English?

Neon Genesis Evangelion 1995
10-31-2011 02:53 AM
spcnet says:
A classic anime, with a terribly confusing story and ending. Watch it if you like being confused and like the sci-fi genre with mechs.

Berserk 1997
10-31-2011 02:51 AM
spcnet says:
An action packed, almost mindlessly violent anime that's set in the medieval times. What's great about it though is that there is a lot of character development of Gattsu. You see him start off as a puny soldier and train and learn his way to becoming the killing machine that he is today. Unfortunately, the ending really stinks and the anime turns really twisted.

Full Metal Panic! 2002
10-31-2011 02:48 AM
spcnet says:
This is a silly and goofy sci-fi anime. The anime follows Sousuke Sagara, a special agent with the military (MITHRIL), and Kaname Chidori, a high school student with special powers. Sousuke is tasked with protecting Chidori for any dangers and has access to a special mech unit. As the story unfolds, y ou get learn why Sousuke is tasked with protecting Chidori and get some teenage romance mixed in. Overall, this is a great fun anime.

Last Exile 2003
10-31-2011 02:43 AM
spcnet says:
This is a confusing anime, but it's actually really good. It takes place on a different planet where water is a very scarce resource. The technology available seems quite diverse from old vintage looking planes to full blown robotic ships. There's a bit of action, but there's a ton of character development with the main characters and their friends. Anyway, I highly recommend this anime, the ending is great and very satisfying.

Bu Bu Jing Xin 2011
10-06-2011 11:06 PM
spcnet says:
Time travel fans can rejoice in this, and for the eye candy of a cast too.

Dream High 2011
10-06-2011 11:05 PM
spcnet says:
One of those feel good dramas.

City Hunter 2011
10-06-2011 11:04 PM
spcnet says:
Best Actor award for Lee Min Ho for this role!

The Other Truth 2011
10-06-2011 11:04 PM
spcnet says:
It quickly turned into a drama not about lawyers but just that the main characters happened to be lawyers starting with the corrupted cops case.

My Sister of Eternal Flower 2011
10-06-2011 11:02 PM
spcnet says:
Charmaine's version was too much influenced by Roger Kwok's in Square Pegs.

No Regrets 2010
01-26-2011 03:06 AM
spcnet says:
Engaging drama but not as good as its predecessor. Sheren Tsang and Wayne Lai deserved their best actress/actor awards.

Sisters of Pearl 2010
06-03-2010 10:28 PM
spcnet says:
Quickly feels tiring with all the plotting.

In the Eye of the Beholder 2009
04-13-2010 10:27 PM
spcnet says:
Started out silly funny, but deteriorates pretty quickly.

Stars Falling From the Sky 2010
02-18-2010 11:37 PM
spcnet says:
Funny drama with 5 cute kids.

Hi, My Sweetheart 2009
12-29-2009 10:53 PM
spcnet says:
Watching Alan Luo in the dorky role is painful.

The Host 2006
12-28-2009 01:15 AM
spcnet says:
Not as good as it's been acclaimed to be. I'm not sure what all the hype was about. It's definitely a decent monster movie, but nothing compared to Jaws or anything like that.

The Way Home 2002
12-28-2009 01:13 AM
spcnet says:
This movie is sad as you see this little kid abuse his old grandmother. But it slowly develops to a heart warming tear jerker.

Born Rich 2009
12-17-2009 08:51 PM
spcnet says:
I'm surprised some viewers bashed the ending of this drama for letting the villain go unpunished when Beyond the Realm of Conscience did the same thing. The drama did get pretty draggy and somehow lacked excitement.

The Storm Warriors 2009
12-15-2009 11:32 PM
spcnet says:
Re Funn: More or less. Kenny Ho played Wah Ying Hung in ATV's The Blood Sword 1990, which was adapted from the same author of both comic series. The character of Wah Ying Hung heavily influenced how Wu Ming was drawn and portrayed in the Fung Wan comics. Even Wu Ming's sword was called "Ying Hung" (Hero).

The Storm Warriors 2009
12-15-2009 10:54 PM
spcnet says:
Kenny Ho reprising his role as Wu Ming is a great pick. Agreed that Charlene as Meng is terrible.

Born Rich 2009
11-29-2009 11:14 PM
spcnet says:
Strong drama with Ray Liu, Jamie Chik, and Anita Yuen back on the small screen.

InuYasha - The Final Act 2009
11-26-2009 02:33 PM
spcnet says:
@lUckY_keNy: The first few episodes are out already. We have some links in our Videos section.

IRIS 2009
11-26-2009 02:28 PM
spcnet says:
Thrilling agent drama. Lee Byung Hun must be bringing back his action experience from GI Joe.

You're Beautiful 2009
11-22-2009 07:40 PM
spcnet says:
The latest cute idol drama about a girl dressed up as a guy. Park Shin Hye is adorable here.

Kung Fu Panda 2008
11-03-2009 07:59 PM
spcnet says:
This is a great kids movie! It's fun and action packed and has a great lesson for kids.

Old Boy 2003
11-03-2009 07:46 PM
spcnet says:
This movie is messed up!

G.I. Joe: The Rise of Cobra 2009
11-03-2009 07:29 PM
spcnet says:
The more I think about it, it's best not to watch this movie unless you're a big fan of GI Joe.

Autumn's Concerto 2009
10-25-2009 11:41 PM
spcnet says:
The family pictures look really endearing with the kid.

InuYasha - The Final Act 2009
10-11-2009 10:42 PM
spcnet says:
Finally, InuYasha will pick up the story and finish off the series!

Fullmetal Alchemist: Brotherhood 2009
10-11-2009 10:36 PM
spcnet says:
This version is supposed to follow the original manga closely so the first few episodes are fast-paced recaps of the first anime and then continues the story after a divergence point. Should be good!

The Legend of the Condor Heroes 1982
10-10-2009 11:30 PM
spcnet says:
@mystery_m2m: Rebecca Chan played Qing Yiu Ga, the disciple of Chuan Zhen Clan's Sun But Yee. You can see her in the 2nd trailer at 1:12. Her character marries Austin Wai's Luk Goon Ying.

D.I.E. Again 2009
09-29-2009 09:59 PM
spcnet says:
Hopefully the ending is better this time.

Trees in Heaven 2006
09-16-2009 11:04 PM
spcnet says:
@XWingSuki: It's not a sequel, more like separate a spin-off from Stairway to Heaven to develop just that side story.

Trees in Heaven 2006
09-04-2009 04:33 PM
spcnet says:
@XWingSuki: Yes, Park Shin Hye is the same actress who played the young Jung-suh

Burning Flame III 2009
08-18-2009 11:07 PM
spcnet says:
Kevin Cheng's character is almost too perfect, making it uninteresting to watch. Wong Hei needed to carry the show for the 3rd time but his stubbornness is tedious to watch after a while. Good lesson about how being unable to let go of something can destroy you though. That kind of self-destruction is scary and sad.

BF storyline is probably milked enough now though, we don't need a 4th.

You're Hired 2009
08-16-2009 11:23 PM
spcnet says:
Dayo Wong still funny.

G.I. Joe: The Rise of Cobra 2009
08-16-2009 11:31 AM
spcnet says:
Don't watch this movie if you're looking for deep plot. Watch this movie if you're looking for silly and fun action/acting.

The Little Nyonya 2008
07-31-2009 07:45 PM
spcnet says:
Hailed as Singapore's Jewel in the Palace (Dae Jang Geum)

The New Heavenly Sword and Dragon Saber 1986
07-31-2009 12:30 AM
spcnet says:
Re tncdel: the actress who played Chu Gau Zhen was Frances Lau Bik Yee.

Swallow the Sun 2009
07-18-2009 04:14 PM
spcnet says:
The South African scenery look great.

Atashinchi no Danshi 2009
07-15-2009 11:36 PM
spcnet says:
Looks like a manga story.

Easy Fortune Happy Life 2009
07-09-2009 12:00 AM
spcnet says:
Looks like another romance drama in the vein of Fated to Love You.

Friend, Our Legend 2009
07-08-2009 12:39 AM
spcnet says:
Hyun Bin reprising Jang Dong Gun's role as Joon-seok in the movie "Friend" in 2001 should be refreshing.

The Heavenly Sword and Dragon Saber 2009
07-07-2009 11:36 PM
spcnet says:
Deng Chao looks like a very young Zhang Wu Ji while Liu Jing looks like a very old Zhou Zhi Ruo.

Rosy Business 2009
05-04-2009 10:01 PM
spcnet says:
Wayne Lai in his first lead role looks promising though it also looks like we're in for a lot of family plotting.

The Winter Melon Tale 2009
04-28-2009 10:17 PM
spcnet says:
This is a drama for little kids.

Cain and Abel 2009
04-19-2009 01:11 AM
spcnet says:
Intense, though overly dramatized, series.

Ip Man 2008
03-27-2009 10:18 PM
spcnet says:
Donnie Yen's best movie so far.

E.U. 2009
03-19-2009 12:46 AM
spcnet says:
Michael Tse stole the show.

Beyond the Realm of Conscience 2009
03-06-2009 11:01 PM
spcnet says:
Looks like Heart of Greed meshed with War and Beauty.

E.U. 2009
02-18-2009 11:07 PM
spcnet says:
Kathy Chow back on the scene and paired up with Michael Miu for the first time should be interesting.

Storm Rider - Clash of Evils 2009
02-10-2009 12:03 AM
spcnet says:
From what I've read about the plot, it appears that the animation would span quite a few volumes of the comics, which could only be a bad thing. 99 minutes is not enough to cram all the complex relationships and story into a movie. Animation art looks like it's no where near the quality of the comic books either, which is a shame. I propose that Mr. Ma Wing Shing start from scratch and create an animated TV series and not deviate from the original plot to do it justice.

East of Eden 2008
01-25-2009 11:56 PM
spcnet says:
The cast looks great in the pictures.

Boys Over Flowers 2008
01-09-2009 11:37 PM
spcnet says:
Ratings are reportedly high for this Korean remake so far.

Iljimae 2008
12-23-2008 09:25 PM
spcnet says:
Re psychoanalyst: Thanks for the catch.

The Gem of Life 2008
12-01-2008 12:15 AM
spcnet says:
So far the series is slow and predictable. Acting seems forced from every actor and actress.

Last One Standing 2008
10-25-2008 12:18 AM
spcnet says:
Great to see Roger Kwok in a villain role.

Naruto Shippuden 2007
07-31-2008 11:23 PM
spcnet says:
It was great that the filler episodes were finally over from the Naruto series. The Shippuden series started out well, bringing the story back on track with Kishimoto's manga, though it still felt a bit slow. Naruto is more powerful, Sakura finally showed some power, and other favorite characters such as Gaara, Kakashi, Itachi, and Lee get some screen time. Unfortunately, 60+ episodes in, we have fillers again.

The Legend of the Condor Heroes 2008
07-25-2008 01:52 AM
spcnet says:
From what I've read, the story of Yang Kang may be drawn out a bit too much for my liking.

Catch Me Now 2008
07-11-2008 10:12 PM
spcnet says:
Watchable cop versus crook drama with plenty of suspense early on. Idy Chan improved as the drama went on.

My Sassy Girl 2001
07-10-2008 12:32 AM
spcnet says:
I kind of thought My Sassy Girl was sad because if it was based on a true story, then it most likely means he never found her in the end...

The Conquest 2006
07-03-2008 12:15 AM
spcnet says:
This was a great historical drama that delves into the story of characters like Fu Chai, Fan Li, Xi Shi, and Gou Jian. Everyone acted well in their roles and the story was compelling with enough political intrigue, strategy, and suspense. Characters were also not clear cut black and white and it's in those morally gray areas that make viewers think about friendship, loyalty, and love. Highly recommended!

The Conqueror's Story 2004
06-04-2008 11:57 PM
spcnet says:
"The Conqueror's Story" is an interesting and exciting retelling of the founding of the Han dynasty. Despite a comical beginning, the story picks up as Liu Bang and Xiang Yu compete for glory. There are many battles of wits and war strategies - TVB has done it right for this one!

Extra tidbits on the history of Chinese proverbs and phrases at the beginning of each episode were very interesting too.

The Silver Chamber of Sorrows 2008
05-29-2008 05:43 PM
spcnet says:
So melodramatic that it makes me want to cringe.

Trigun 1998
05-22-2008 12:34 AM
spcnet says:
Another anime on my top recommended list. Futuristic gun slinging with great characters.

The Forbidden Kingdom 2008
05-07-2008 12:46 AM
spcnet says:
An average film that packs some punches from the Jackie Chan and Jet Li duo but otherwise suffers from bad pacing at times and perfunctory action sequences. Jet Li was horrible as the Monkey King but fares better as the stoic monk.

D.I.E. 2008
04-16-2008 12:57 AM
spcnet says:
Lots of loose ends in this series and no chemistry between Sonija Kwok/Roger Kwok and Margie Tsang/Kwok Jing Hong pairings. The final few episodes were pretty boring too as I waited for the obvious revealing of the culprits. The ending ruins it all too - I felt like I wasted my time watching this. It's no wonder viewers are demanding an alternative ending.

Shanghai Bund 2007
02-26-2008 11:25 PM
spcnet says:
Huang Xiao Ming's Xu Wen Qiang comes the closest as a follow-up to Chow Yun Fat's rendition in TVB's "The Bund" in 1980. It helps that Huang Xiao Ming also looks smoking hot in a suit. The only disappointment is Huang Hai Bo as Ding Li, who pales in comparison to Ray Liu's version.

Aside from a generally well formed cast, the settings and storyline also retain the feel of the 80's classic. Francis Yip also sings the classic themesong in Mandarin. Ending is probably the biggest letdown in the whole series but definitely provides an interesting alternative ending.

Bleach 2004
02-10-2008 03:18 PM
spcnet says:
Bleach also suffers from filler episodes after the Soul Society Arc of the anime and I began to lose interest in the story after that. It became exaggerated that many of their friends suddenly acquired powers and that all the evil-doings were primarily focused in the town the main character lived in. What about the rest of the world if the villains wanted to take over? It is funny also that Soul Society is like feudal Japan. Do other parts of the world have different Soul Societies? - this would be interesting to explore, how the different soul societies co-existed.

There was also a caste system clearly in place in Soul Society, so dying and passing on to that place wasn't exactly 'heaven'. I immediately thought of Pullman's "His Dark Materials" trilogy too where his version of the place where souls go to after death was completely different than a Christian portrayal. If Bleach could do more explorations in that area, I would admire it more. Otherwise, it's just another shounen anime for the masses.

War of In-Laws II 2008
02-06-2008 11:07 PM
spcnet says:
The Devil Wears Prada meets War of the In-Laws...

Fullmetal Alchemist 2003
02-03-2008 02:57 AM
spcnet says:
One of my favorite animes - this one packs action, horror, sci-fi, fantasy, and heartfelt brotherly love all into one great series. Highly recommended!

Death Note 2006
01-26-2008 01:02 AM
spcnet says:
Interesting manga/anime that also spawned two Japanese movie adaptations. My favorite character is L!

The Ultimate Crime Fighter 2007
01-03-2008 01:32 AM
spcnet says:
Pretty watchable and refreshing change of character types for Moses Chan, Gigi Lai and Kevin Cheng. The ending felt a rushed though and was not wrapped up nicely - suddenly the producers wanted to cram Buddhism and fate into the viewer and it became preachy.

Red Cliff 2008
12-07-2007 11:58 PM
spcnet says:
The most anticipated movie of 2008 thus far - welcome back John Woo!

The Legend and the Hero 2007
12-07-2007 12:05 AM
spcnet says:
The first half of "Legend and the Hero" is pretty good at building up the story and characters. I kept comparing it to TVB's "Gods of Honour" (which was horribly dumbed down) and thought that it was great that China decided to respect the original story to most extent. However, I have to say, the latter half started to drag when most of the battles lacked excitement and strategy. Jiang Ziya goes to seek his master for help for most of the battles or they win just by recruiting someone 'stronger' to join the fight. Fan BingBing was great as Tan Gei though.

The Young Warriors 2007
12-06-2007 11:48 PM
spcnet says:
This Taiwanese version of the Yang family makes you care for its characters and truly feel for the bonds of the family and the tragedy that befalls them. Since TVB's "Yang's Saga 1985" version, no other production company had gathered together such an impressive young cast to play the seven Yang heroes until this version came along. Amy Chan also shines again in another Yang family saga (this time playing the mother!) while Yuan Hong plays a hard to hate antagonist. Martial arts choreography is good and the major war battle at the Golden Sand Bund is not to be missed for its intensity and grittiness.

Sword Stained With Royal Blood 2007
07-24-2007 11:13 PM
spcnet says:
Entertaining adaptation of Jin Yong's "Bi Xue Jian" novel with creative swordplay and fighting scenes. Book purists should be pleased - though this adaptation is supposedly based on the 3rd revision of the novel so our main character is wishy-washy in his love.

Infernal Affairs 2002
07-24-2007 08:21 PM
spcnet says:
A thriller that packs an emotional punch at the end.

Ashes of Time 1994
07-15-2007 02:44 PM
spcnet says:
"Ashes of Time" has one of the best soundtracks I've listened to and is still one of my favorites.

The Demi-Gods and Semi-Devils 2003
08-22-2004 12:00 AM
spcnet says:
Currently watching this series now. I have to say the scenery is beautiful and many of the fight scenes are interesting to watch. However, the storytelling is somehow lacking, with the director either being very faithful to the novel or cutting out what I think are essentials.

Advertise on SPCNET.TV


Buy DVDs

Bu Bu Jing Xinstarring Cecilia Liu Shi Shi, Kevin Cheng, Nicky Wu, Yuan Hong