The Heavenly Sword and Dragon Saber Member Reviews

Member Ratings

totalloser

02-01-2013 06:45 PM

     

Short music review. Interesting choice of chanted music for soundtrack. The second stanza of the Jewish Sh'ma is used extensively (baruch shem kavod malchuto l'olam vaed), I think starting around the third episode or so. I personally like this choice even though it is not Chinese music. Props to the music director.


oppositition

12-01-2011 10:09 AM

     

I watched this series after the 2003 version with Alec Su and Allysa Chia. All I got to say is, this version sucked. The casting is a big disappointment. I could not watch past episode 3. It was that bad. Thumbs down.


Apop Harris

10-18-2011 03:30 PM

     

I initially didnt like Deng Chao for his 'average' looking, it turned out he did great acting as Wuji. Most fighting scenes are the best compare to previous versions. The Director combined real kungfu with 'proper' special effects, not over-use. I mostly like the fights between Wuji vs Shaolin in Ming cult Bright Peak, and Wuji vs Mongolian vanguards in Wutang. Ady An as Zhao Min is quite enjoyable, Xiao Ciao is extremely cute, Zhiruo is ok, but too much makeup. The only bad side is the ending, so rush and I personally don't like Jin Yong revision to his own novel, so lame. I still think 1986 version has the best ending compare to all version from 1978 to 2009 and even the revised novel!


Shinnemoe

06-09-2011 04:52 PM

     

The Chinese best film ever watched! All the characters are very lovely, especially the girls... ha ha... I really love Andy An's actings.


wunderlust

04-28-2010 05:29 AM

     

Very competent adaptation. Really love Ady An's, Deng Chao's and He Zhuo Yan's interpretation of their respective characters. Great fighting scenes too(look out for episode 38). The downside is that they could have made the Guang Ming Ding's fight more exiciting. Also this is like the worst Zhou Zhirou i have ever seen(practically fast forward all scenes she is involved in. She looks the part as the evil zhou zhirou though). Nevertheless a pretty enjoyable production.


wunderlust

04-28-2010 05:29 AM

     

Very competent adaptation. Really love Ady An's, Deng Chao's and He Zhuo Yan's interpretation of their respective characters. Great fighting scenes too(look out for episode 38). The downside is that they could have made the Guang Ming Ding's fight more exiciting. Also this is like the worst Zhou Zhirou i have ever seen(practically fast forward all scenes she is involved in. She looks the part as the evil zhou zhirou though). Nevertheless a pretty enjoyable production.


outgrown

02-25-2010 01:40 AM

     

personally i felt that out of the thousands of actresses available, the director could have easily picked someone younger,and prettier looking than liu jing. I'm not saying that liu jing is ugly but i really don;t think she fits the description of zhou zhirou in the novels (who is supposed to be exceedingly beautiful). It doesn't help the fact that her acting was not exactly impressive so overall i was alittle disappointed with the casting of zhou zhirou. it makes me very hard to root for the character when watching the series.Gao yuan yuan was in my opinion, probably one of the best zhou zhirou onscreen. Other than her apparent beauty, her acting was spot-on and definitely made me sympathise with the character


wavyriver81

01-08-2010 08:48 PM

     

Not good.I would give it 2.5 stars if possible. Alec Su's version was 10X better. Too over exagerated. Mistake # 1 Zhang Jun Bao as a little kid attaking He Ju dao with no Guo Xiang, not logical and wrong. If you wan to make changes make it good and don't take away the essence. Mistake #2, did they really have to make Zhang Cui Shan roll 100 steps off the stairs at the point of suicide. Mistake #3, highly illogical for for Xie xun to take Wu Ji as a god son giving him the name Wu Ji when he was able to run.


BDxCrazyazian

08-23-2009 09:44 AM

     

really, i think the casting is pretty good... maybe a few of them are iffy but is it just me or does Liu Jing look a bit to old as zhou zhirou when shes in costume


tnguy

07-11-2009 03:10 AM

     

Hmm I'm very uncertain about this casting. Very unsure indeed...


spcnet

07-07-2009 11:36 PM

     

Deng Chao looks like a very young Zhang Wu Ji while Liu Jing looks like a very old Zhou Zhi Ruo.


Add a Rating

You must log in first to submit a rating!

Step 1: Rate this!
      

Login/register to rate and add your review



Advertise on SPCNET.TV


Buy DVDs
The Heavenly Sword and Dragon Saber

Shop Asian Fashion at YesStyle